Aqueduct Stewards' Decisions
Welcome to the Stewards’ Corner, where you will find explanations of the decisions that our stewards make on race days.
Stewards' Review
In his weekly segment, NYRA steward Victor Escobar discusses decisions made throughout the week regarding incidents, inquiries, objections, or disqualifications. Please note, no video will be produced during weeks where no inquires or objections took place.
2025 Decisions
In the 5th race on 10/25/2025 there was a claim of foul from the rider of Nittardi into an incident in the stretch involving the winner, Calling an Audible, ridden by Luis Rivera, Jr. and Nittardi, placed third, ridden by Katie Davis. After viewing a replay of the incident, the Stewards were satisfied that Calling an Audible was sufficiently clear of Nittardi when shifting left off its intended line, and therefore deemed that no interference took place. As a result, the placings remained unaltered as follows: 4-2-5-8
In the 2nd race on 10/24/2025 there was a Stewards inquiry into an incident in the stretch involving the winner Wamo, ridden by Katie Davis and Pantherian, placed second, ridden by Joel Rosario. After reviewing the replay of the incident, the Stewards determined that Wamo shifted right for several strides takng Pantherian considerably off its intended line. Taking into account the longevity of the incident and the winning margin being a head, the Stewards believed the incident did cost Pantherian the opportunity of a better placing, and therefore altered the placings as follows: 6-5-4-8
In the 5th race 10/17/2025 there was a Stewards inquiry into an incident on the run to the wire involving the winner, Renegade, ridden by John Velazquez and Paladin, placed second, ridden by Flavien Prat. After reviewing the replay of the incident, Renegade shifted right and made contact with Paladin, which also resulted in Renegade taking Paladin off its intended line. Taking this into consideration and the official winning margin being a head, the Stewards determined that the incident did result in Paladin not getting the opportunity of a better placing, and therefore the Stewards ordered for the placings to be altered as follows: 7-3-4-5
In the 9th race 10/5/2025 there was Stewards inquiry and Riders’ objection into an incident on the run to the wire involving Candy Moonshine, place second, ridden by Manuel Franco and Fancy n’Flight, placed third, ridden by Ruben Silvera. After reviewing the replay of the incident, the board of Stewards determined that Candy Moonshine shifted left leaving insufficient room on its inside, causing the rider of Fancy n’Flight to have to take a check for several strides. Taking that into consideration, the Stewards ultimately determined it resulted in Candy Moonshine of the opportunity of a better placing and therefore the Stewards altered the placings as follows: 2-12-5-6
In the 9th race on 9/13/2025 the Stewards inquired into two incidents in the stretch involving the winner #8 Classicist, ridden by Kendrick Carmouche and #6 Tuscan Gold, placed second, ridden by Manuel Franco. There was also a jockey objection from Manuel Franco. After viewing recordings of the incident, the board of Stewards determined that in the first incident, Classicist and Tuscan Gold both went independently right off their intended lines, so the therefore the Stewards deemed that no interference took place. In the second incident, the Stewards determined that whilst they acknowledge that minor contact took place between Classicist and Tuscan Gold, the Stewards did not believe that Tuscan Gold lost any momentum from the incident and therefore ordered the placings to remain unaltered.
In the 6th race on 9/13/2025 there was Stewards inquiry into an incident turning into the stretch involving the winner #3 Day One Starter, ridden by Javier Castellano and #2 Schoolyardsuperman, which unseated Manuel Franco. Having reviewed the available camera footage, the board of Stewards were unable to apportion blame to any horse or rider involved and therefore ordered the result to remain unaltered.
In the 4th race on 9/12/2025 there was a Stewards inquiry into an incident in the stretch involving the winner #2 Commuted, ridden by Ricardo Santana Jr., #6 House United, placed second, ridden by Manuel Franco and #1 Ranger Battalion, placed fourth, ridden by Dylan Davis. The board of Stewards determined that House United stepped slightly left leaving insufficient room on its inside intimidating Commuted which in turn tightened Ranger Battalion for racing room and caused Davis to take a check for several strides on the rail. As a result, the placings were altered accordingly. Final order of finish: 2-3-1-6
About Stewards' Decisions
Directly following any decision they make having to do with the official order of finish, including inquiries and objections, the stewards – one appointed by The New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA), one appointed by the New York State Gaming Commission, and one appointed by The Jockey Club (TJC) – provide an explanation of what happened and the reason for their decision.
Stewards' inquiries are a two-step process. The first is the decision that the stewards make regarding whether interference affected the outcome of the race. This decision is made in real time and may result in a disqualification if the stewards believe the interference altered the order of finish. The second part of the inquiry happens the following race day during formal film review with the relevant riders. A rider may be fined or suspended if the stewards believe interference was the result of careless or reckless riding. In that instance, a ruling is issued and the rider is given time to decide whether to appeal. Once that decision is made and the ruling is public, the ruling will be added to the Stewards Decision website.